Top Small Business honors go to Kwik Kar for 2017

Marta and Frank Dudowicz, owners of Kwik Kar Oil Change & Auto Centers of Denton were presented the chamber’s Small Business of the Year Award for 2017.
Kwik Kar was selected from among 18 nominees, primarily recognizing business-related accomplishments as of December 31.   Award criteria includes a combination of comparable growth indices, innovation, and the ability to overcome adverse circumstances.
Nominations are submitted by members of the Denton Chamber.  Contenders must be locally owned and operated, a chamber member in good standing, and, have been in business continuously for at least two years.
Frank and Marta started with one location, and built three additional shops in the local area. Today there are four local shops. All have been successful; and since the beginning, have not had a down year. Year after year growth for the past 10 years have averaged 8% even in the downturn recession of 2008-2010.
Over the last two years, there have been six separate price increases from motor oil manufactures and key inventory items, they did not raise their full-service oil change price which put great pressure on operating profits. They maintained their strategy which is to maintain its dedication to the highest quality of customer service.
Their nomination indicated 7.8 % growth in 2017 despite, strong competition from price discounters.  The nomination also noted that Kwik Kar is not a franchise operation, as some may believe.  Rather it is independently operated by local owners.

The Small Business of the Year Award was presented during the chamber’s Annual Membership Banquet March 22, 2018 by Aaron Newquist, Vice President of Independent Bank.  Independent Bank was a Platinum Sponsor for the event.  Aaron is General Chair-Elect of the chamber’s Leadership Denton program.