2018-19 Officers & Board to address major goals

December 22, 2017
Board Chair-Elect Erik Clark has tentatively named his Executive Committee, including division officers for the program year beginning April 1, 2018.  All officer and committee chair appointments, along with major program initiatives, will be submitted to the chamber’s full board for final approval on March 15.
Former City Council Member and local commercial real estate advisor Greg Johnson will serve as Vice Chair of the Board, heading the chamber’s Economic Development Division.  Amanda Oringderff, with First United Bank, will shift from Economic Development to the Special Initiatives Division.
Monica Glenn, with The Helm Hotels Group, will oversee the chamber’s Government Relations Division.  She had previously served as head of Special Initiatives.  Rick Wick, with Classic Chrysler, Jeep, Dodge, Mazda, will continue as Vice Board Chair in charge of the Membership Development Division.
The full board will hold its annual program planning retreat on Friday, February 2.  Two key carryover goals from the 2017-18 Chamber Year are to pursue a “repurpose” of the existing chamber building and enhance support for the proposed North Texas Expo Center.
Erik has also designated maintaining and advocating the value and relevance of today’s chamber as a priority agenda item for the planning retreat.
Housekeeping objectives to be considered by the board will include developing criteria for a new Denton Radio.Com Advisory Board, and clarifying roles and representation for the Convention & Visitor Bureau Advisory Board.

Any interested chamber members are invited to participate in the annual planning retreat.  Please confirm attendance, 940-382-9693, in order to help with space and arrangements.

Chuck Carpenter, President
(940) 382-9693